Share page:

Ivan D. Combe Lifetime Achievement Award

This award — the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. consumer healthcare industry — recognizes the outstanding work and contributions of individuals whose actions have created a lasting impact on the people and the affairs of the consumer healthcare sector, and who have directly improved self-care for U.S. consumers. The award is named in honor of Ivan D. Combe, an early industry leader and visionary who served on CHPA’s board of directors from 1958 until 2000. Each year, the award committee carefully considers the nominees based on three core categories that embody this award: business excellence, active involvement with industry and CHPA, and giving back to the community. The award carries three words that most in the self-care industry would agree are synonymous with its namesake: innovation, dedication, and commitment. The award was conceived and has been handed out since 2001, following Mr. Combe’s death in 2000.


  • Ivan D. Combe (2001) [posthumously]
  • Michael D. Maves, M.D. (2001)
  • Dr. Jerome Reinstein, Ph.D. (2002)
  • Sen. Orrin D. Hatch, R-Utah (2006)
  • Charles J. Hinkaty (2008)
  • Stanley Barshay (2010)
  • Dr. Linda A. Suydam (2010)
  • Patrick M. Lonergan (2012)
  • Gary S. Balkema (2013)
  • George M. Quesnelle (2014)
  • Christopher B. Combe (2015)
  • Michael J. Valentino (2016)
  • Robert G. Donovan (2017)
  • James D. Cope (2017)
  • John T. Hendrickson (2018)
  • Timothy G. Hayes (2019)
  • Scott R. Emerson (2021)
  • Gary Downing (2022)
  • Jim Mackey (2023)
  • Jeff Needham (2024)

CHPA Regulatory & Scientific Affairs Career Achievement Award

This award, established in 2022, recognizes a career of outstanding contributions and service by individuals who have created a long-lasting impact in support of public health via self-care. Throughout their career of at least 20 years, these individuals have applied their expertise in many ways, for example, to enable new products and technologies, to help shape a constructive regulatory environment, to develop new research techniques and many other ways to expand self-care. They are recognized across the industry as leaders in their field who have devoted time to recruiting, training and mentoring future experts. CHPA’s Regulatory & Scientific Affairs Committee, Policy & Planning Subcommittee will consider nominations each year and winners will be announced by the Committee Chair at the CHPA Regulatory, Scientific & Quality Conference.


  • Sue James (2022)
  • William E. Cooley, Ph.D. (2022)
  • Barbara A. Kochanowski, Ph.D. (2023)
  • Edwin Hemwall, Ph.D. (2023)