CHPA Elects Board and Officers at Annual Executive Conference

Washington, D.C. (March 17, 2006)—The board of directors of the Consumer Healthcare Products Association (CHPA) was elected at the Association’s March 16-18 Annual Executive Conference. John T. Hendrickson, executive vice president and general manager, Perrigo Consumer Healthcare, Perrigo Company, was chosen as board chair. Timothy G. Hayes, senior vice president & region head, North America, Bayer HealthCare LLC, will now serve as the Association’s immediate past chair.

CHPA vice chairs:

  • Gordon Knapp, president, Consumer Healthcare North America, Pfizer Inc;
  • Patrick M. Lonergan, partner, president, NUMARK Laboratories;
  • James J. Mackey, senior vice president, Sales/Operations, Consumer Healthcare, Schering-Plough HealthCare Products, Inc.;*
  • Brian J. McNamara, senior vice president, general manager, OTC North America,  Novartis Consumer Health, Inc.;*
  • George M. Quesnelle, president, North America, Consumer Healthcare, GlaxoSmithKline; and
  • Douglas A. Rogers, president, U.S. Healthcare Division, Wyeth Consumer Healthcare.

CHPA board members:

  • Christopher B.  Ascher, executive vice president, Sales & Marketing, B.F. Ascher & Company, Inc.;
  • Gary R. Downing, chief executive officer, Lansinoh Laboratories, Inc.;
  • Scott R. Emerson, president, The Emerson Group;*
  • Zan Guerry, chairman of the board & chief executive officer, Chattem, Inc.;
  • Patrick Hennig, vice president, Marketing and Sales, Consumer Health Care, Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.;*
  • Jeffrey S. Himmel, chairman & chief executive officer, Himmel Pharmaceuticals Inc.;
  • Charles J. Hinkaty, president and chief executive officer, Del Laboratories, Inc.;
  • Carl J. Johnson, president & chief executive officer, Matrixx Initiatives, Inc.;
  • Daniel R. Johnson, senior vice president, general counsel and secretary, Combe Incorporated;
  • Richard H. June, vice president, Global Personal Health, The Procter & Gamble Company;
  • John J. Lewis, president and chief executive officer, AC Nielsen U.S.;*
  • Peter C. Mann, chief executive officer and chairman of the board, Prestige Brands, Inc.;
  • John McKittrick, New York sales manager/drug category manager, Reader’s Digest;
  • Jeffrey M. Nugent, president & chief executive officer, Insight Pharmaceuticals Corp.;
  • Gregory C. Pulido, chairman & chief executive officer, Humco Holding Group, Inc.;
  • Bill Seiden, senior vice president, Marketing & Sales, Taro Pharmaceuticals U.S.A., Inc.;
  • Michael J. Valentino, president and chief executive officer, Adams Respiratory Therapeutics;
  • Renaat Van den Hooff, president, Johnson & Johnson Merck Consumer Pharmaceuticals Co.;
  • Neill B. Walsdorf, Jr., president, Mission Pharmacal Company;
  • Colin F. Watts, president, McNeil Consumer & Specialty Pharmaceuticals;
  • Akiyoshi Yoshida, Ph.D., president and chief executive officer, The Mentholatum Company, Inc.;
  • Tyler F. Young, president & chief executive officer, W.F. Young, Inc.; and
  • Ted E. Ziemann, president, Cargill Health & Food Technologies.

Serving on the board ex officio as a committee chair:

  • Thomas M. Booth, senior vice president, Strategic Planning and Business Development, Pfizer Inc (International Affairs Committee chair;
  • William E. Hawxhurst, vice president and assistant general counsel, Bayer Healthcare LLC (Government Affairs Committee chair);
  • Edwin L. Hemwall, Ph.D., vice president, Global Regulatory Affairs, Johnson & Johnson • Merck Consumer Pharmaceuticals Co. (Scientific Affairs Committee chair);
  • Tricia McKernan, vice president, Global Communications, Bayer HealthCare LLC (Public Affairs Committee chair);*
  • Richard C. Norgard, senior director, Global Manufacturing Compliance, Pfizer Inc (Manufacturing Controls Committee chair); and
  • Randy M. Sloan, senior vice president, general manager, Del Laboratories, Inc. (Business Development Committee chair).*

*denotes newly elected to this position

Contacts: Elizabeth Assey and Virginia Cox, 202.429.9260

CHPA is the 125-year-old trade association representing U.S. manufacturers and distributors of over-the-counter medicines and nutritional supplement products.