CHPA Elects Board and Officers at Annual Executive Conference

Washington, D.C. (March 14, 2009)—Members of the board of directors of the Consumer Healthcare Products Association (CHPA) were elected at the association’s March 12-14 Annual Executive Conference. Christopher D. DeWolf, president & chief executive Officer, Lil’ Drug Store Products, Inc., was elected as the association’s chair. Timothy G. Hayes, senior vice president & region head, North America, Bayer HealthCare LLC, continues his service as immediate past chair.

CHPA vice chairs:

  • Timothy B. Brown, General Manager, North America Personal Health, The Procter & Gamble Company;*
  • Patrick M. Lonergan, Partner, President, NUMARK Laboratories;
  • James J. Mackey, Senior Vice President, Sales & Operations, Consumer Healthcare, Schering-Plough HealthCare Products, Inc.;
  • Jeffrey R. Needham, Senior Vice President, Commercial Business Development, Perrigo Company;* and
  • Cavan M. Redmond, President, Wyeth Consumer Healthcare.*

CHPA board members:

  • Christopher B. Ascher, Executive Vice President, Sales & Marketing, B.F. Ascher & Company, Inc.;
  • Ronald L. Balasco, Corporate Sales Director, Time Incorporated;*
  • J.P. Borneman, Ph.D., Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, Hyland’s, Inc.;
  • Oray Boston, General Manager, Johnson & Johnson • Merck Consumer Pharmaceuticals Co.;*
  • James DiBiasi, Partner, 3D Communications;*
  • Michael J. Donnantuono, President & Chief Operating Officer, Blistex Inc.;
  • Gary R. Downing, Chief Executive Officer, Lansinoh Laboratories, Inc.;
  • Phillip W. Dritsas, President, Fleming Pharmaceuticals;*
  • Scott R. Emerson, Partner, DSE Healthcare Solutions, LLC;
  • Zan Guerry, Chairman of the Board & Chief Executive Officer, Chattem, Inc.;
  • Patrick Hennig, Vice President, Marketing and Sales, Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.;
  • Jeffrey S. Himmel, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, Himmel Pharmaceuticals Inc.;
  • Sheila Hopkins, Vice President & General Manager, Professional Oral Care, Colgate-Palmolive Company;
  • Charles F. Hough, OTC Business Unit, Region Head – North America, Novartis Consumer Health, Inc.;*
  • Daniel R. Johnson, Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary, Combe Incorporated;
  • Stephen C. Johnson, Executive Vice President and General Manager, Information Resources, Inc.;
  • David J. Long, Vice President, Regional Regulatory & Medical Affairs, Reckitt Benckiser Inc.;
  • Peter Luther, President, McNeil Consumer Healthcare;*
  • Maureen P. Maldari, Group Executive Vice President, Global Client Services Director, Grey Group;
  • Mark Pettie, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Prestige Brands Holdings, Inc.;
  • Paul B. Pickles, Chief Executive Officer, CPL – Contract Pharmaceuticals Ltd.;*
  • Gregory C. Pulido, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, Humco Holding Group, Inc.;
  • Adam D. Raczkowski, President and Chief Operating Officer, W.F. Young, Inc.;
  • Roger L. Scarlett-Smith, President, North America, Consumer Healthcare, GlaxoSmithKline;
  • Bill Seiden, Senior Vice President, U.S. Sales & Marketing, Taro Pharmaceuticals U.S.A., Inc.;
  • Randy M. Sloan, President and Chief Executive Officer, Lornamead Brands Inc.;*
  • Neill B. Walsdorf, Jr., President, Mission Pharmacal Company;
  • Akiyoshi Yoshida, Ph.D., President and Chief Executive Officer, The Mentholatum Company, Inc.; and
  • Michael A. Zeher, President & Chief Executive Officer, Nutrition 21, Inc.*

Serving on the board ex officio as a committee chair:

  • Susan Beavis, Director, Regulatory Affairs – CMC, J&J Consumer & Personal Products Worldwide, Johnson & Johnson Consumer Companies, Inc. (Manufacturing Controls Committee chair);
  • Terry Boylan, Vice President, Global Communications – OTC, Novartis Consumer Health, Inc. (Public Affairs Committee chair);*
  • Susan E. James, Vice President, Worldwide Regulatory Affairs, Compliance & Quality Control, GlaxoSmithKline (Regulatory and Scientific Affairs Committee chair);*
  • Catherine A. Sohn, Pharm.D., Senior Vice President, WWBD & Strategic Alliances,  Consumer Healthcare, GlaxoSmithKline (International Affairs Committee chair); and
  • Peter N. Stevens, Assistant General Counsel, Consumer Healthcare,   GlaxoSmithKline (Government Affairs Committee chair).

*denotes newly elected to this position

Contacts: Virginia Cox and Mimi Pappas, 202.429.9260

CHPA is the 128-year-old trade association representing U.S. manufacturers and distributors of over-the-counter medicines and nutritional supplement products.