CHPA Elects Board and Officers at Annual Executive Conference

Washington, D.C. (March 11, 2010) – Members of the board of directors of the Consumer Healthcare Products Association (CHPA) were elected at the association’s March 11-13 Annual Executive Conference. Christopher D. DeWolf, president & chief executive officer, Lil’ Drug Store Products, Inc., was re-elected as the association’s chair. Timothy G. Hayes, senior vice president & region head, North America, Bayer HealthCare LLC, will serve as immediate past chair.

CHPA vice chairs: 

  • Charles F. Hough, OTC region head North America, Novartis Consumer Health, Inc.;
  • Patrick M. Lonergan, partner, president, NUMARK Laboratories;
  • Peter B. Luther, president, North America OTC, McNeil Consumer Healthcare;
  • James J. Mackey, senior vice president, Sales & Operations, Schering-Plough  Consumer Healthcare, a Division of Merck and Co.;
  • Jeffrey R. Needham, executive vice president, Perrigo Company; and
  • Roger L. Scarlett-Smith, president, North America, Consumer Healthcare, GlaxoSmithKline.

CHPA board members:

  • Christopher B. Ascher, executive vice president, Sales & Marketing, B.F. Ascher & Company, Inc.;
  • Ronald L. Balasco, Jr., corporate sales director, Time Incorporated;
  • J.P. Borneman, Ph.D., chairman & chief executive officer, Hyland’s, Inc.;
  • Oray B. Boston, Jr., general manager, Johnson & Johnson • Merck Consumer Pharmaceuticals Co.;
  • James DiBiasi, partner, 3D Communications;
  • Michael J. Donnantuono, president & chief operating officer, Blistex Inc.;
  • Phillip W. Dritsas, president, Fleming Pharmaceuticals;
  • Scott R. Emerson, partner, DSE Healthcare Solutions, LLC;
  • Zan Guerry, chairman of the board & chief executive officer, Chattem, Inc.;
  • William J. Hemelt, president and chief executive officer, director, Matrixx Initiatives, Inc.;
  • Patrick Hennig, vice president, Marketing and Sales, Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.;
  • Jeffrey S. Himmel, chairman & chief executive officer, Himmel Pharmaceuticals Inc.;
  • Sheila Hopkins, vice president & general manager, Professional Oral Care, Colgate-Palmolive Company;
  • Colleen E. Jay, vice president, North America Personal Health; Global Brand Franchise Leader, Digestive Wellness, The Procter & Gamble Company;
  • Daniel R. Johnson, Esq., senior vice president, general counsel and secretary, Combe Incorporated;
  • Edward C. Kuehnle, president, Catalina Marketing Services, Catalina Marketing Corporation;*
  • David J. Long, vice president, Regional Regulatory & Medical Affairs, Reckitt Benckiser Inc.;
  • Matthew M. Mannelly, chief executive officer, Prestige Brands Holdings, Inc.;
  • Diane K. Manwaring, president - North America, Lansinoh Laboratories, Inc.;*
  • James L. Medford, president, chief executive officer, and chairman of the board, Aaron Industries, Inc.;
  • Gregory C. Pulido, chairman & chief executive officer, Humco Holding Group, Inc.;
  • Adam D. Raczkowski, president and chief operating officer, W.F. Young, Inc.;
  • Jeffrey R. Rowan, president and chief executive officer, Fleet Laboratories;
  • Bill Seiden, senior vice president, U.S. Sales & Marketing, Taro Pharmaceuticals U.S.A., Inc.;
  • Randy M. Sloan, president and chief executive officer, Lornamead, Inc.;
  • Paul L. Sturman, president and general manager, Pfizer Consumer Healthcare;
  • Neill B. Walsdorf, Jr., president, Mission Pharmacal Company;
  • Robert M. Wengel, senior vice president, Professional Services, The Nielsen Company;*
  • Akiyoshi Yoshida, Ph.D., president and chief executive officer, The Mentholatum Company; and
  • Michael A. Zeher, president & chief executive officer, Nutrition 21, Inc.

Serving on the board ex officio as a committee chair:

  • Terry V. Boylan, vice president, Global Communications – OTC, Novartis Consumer  Health, Inc. (Public Affairs Committee chair);
  • Susan E. James, vice president, Worldwide Regulatory Affairs, Compliance & Quality Control, GlaxoSmithKline (Regulatory and Scientific Affairs Committee chair);
  • Catherine A. Sohn, Pharm.D., senior vice president, WWBD & Strategic Alliances,  Consumer Healthcare, GlaxoSmithKline (International Affairs Committee chair);
  • Peter N. Stevens, Esq., assistant general counsel, Consumer Healthcare, GlaxoSmithKline (Government Affairs Committee chair); and
  • Paul J. Weninger, vice president, Consumer Healthcare Global Quality Operations, Perrigo Company (Manufacturing Controls Committee chair).*

Contact: Elizabeth Funderburk, 202.429.9260

CHPA is the 129-year-old trade association representing U.S. manufacturers and distributors of over-the-counter medicines and nutritional supplement products.